The Day

There are knots in my tummy
With each and every passing day
I feel them getting tighter
As I know The Day is coming

They weigh and drag me down

Pulling me lower on your list
I will not be a priority in life 
No longer first thought to call

You’ll create new private jokes 
Making ours insignificant 
Someone new to confide in
To replace our heart to hearts

Our bond, envied and talked 
Losing all sacredness to new
Concern for me secondary 
Our welfare replaced by yours

With each year that passes 
Our memories will fade away
One laughter after another 
Tears shed now mere dust

But hold dear in your heart
Amidst the depths of all else
The love I hold for no one
But YOU

8b7f2dd1d0161474ac76cd64b7a7d8c7

Leave a Reply

