Pretend 

​It’s me, I fluctuate 

Extreme to extreme 

I can hate enough to kill 

Love enough for you to hate 
I no longer pretend 

To be the girl you love 

To accept and adjust

Tight lips to avoid fights 
I have thoughts 

Opinions to express too

Why must you dominate

While I suffer silently 
Oh dear puppet master

The ropes have frayed 

I will do as I please

But I do still love you
I will love as an equal

With a voice that is my own

Let the fights I avoided 

Mature us to be closer

 

7 thoughts on “Pretend 

Leave a Reply

